CSPC Symposium: Science Funding Mechanisms: International Practices & Scientific Research

October 4, 2016

Sponsored by University of Toronto

On Monday Oct 3rd, CSPC organized a by invitation symposium on Science Funding Mechanisms. Symposium comprised several panels with speakers from Canada and international, the US, UK and the Netherlands. Discussing the practices of science funding review in those countries. Additionally speakers discussed various issues on science funding, including multidisciplinary science, international collaborations, efficiencies and impacts of science funding and gender bias in funding grant applications. The participants ranged senior officials from government, granting agencies and universities and other major players of science funding in Canada.

As a non-partisan organization, CSPC is committed to disseminating knowledge and information to benefit a wide range of stakeholders. 

Mehrdad Hariri
President & CEO, CSPC

Dr. Maryann Feldman

Science of Science and Innovation Policy (SciSIP) Program Director at the National Science Foundation
Heninger Distinguished Professor in the Department of Public Policy at the University of North Carolina

Dr. Holly Witteman
Assistant professor of medicine, Laval University.

Dr. Vivek Goel
Vice president Research and Innovation , University of Toronto

Dr. Chad Gaffield
Distinguished professor, University of Ottawa, Incoming President, Royal Society of Canada

Dr. Alan Bernstien (left)
President and CEO, Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR)

Dr. Jim Woodgett
Senior Investigator and Director of Research at the Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute

Dr. Jim Davies
Professor in the Department of Economics at Western University
Dr. Vivek Goel
Vice president Research and Innovation , University of Toronto